“mathematician”

A while ago, I tweeted that “Maths is in my heart”. Trixie Barretto was inspired by that to make a video of me: which is now posted on vimeo: “mathematician”.

Since it came out two days ago, I’ve posted the link on twitter, facebook and Google+. I am struck by how many people have been touched by it. Here are some quotes from people’s comments:

  • “Exquisite portrayal of love of math.”
  • “Great short film. I have never heard someone talking about Maths like this before.”
  • “What makes this video truly moving is that it depicts how a love of mathematics can carry someone through tough times.”
  • “If you wonder how people can love math, or know someone who is wondering this, this video may help.”
  • “A very nice presentation of her relationship with this tool of the mind. it is interesting how she relates to mathematics with feeling like most people do with music.”
  • “Very inspiring!”
  • “I think many, perhaps even most mathematicians feel some of these emotions – but most are not so good at conveying them.”
  • “A beautiful story, I wish I had better mathematical understanding of the world.”
  • “Thanks for this! It’s very inspiring. 🙂 I’m trying to get myself more interested in mathematics, and it’s great to learn a bit about a female mathematician from a personal point of view. Not something I see every day!”

I hope you can share it too, in particular, with school children and teachers who may want to spread the good news about how human an activity mathematics is.

About Nalini Joshi

Mathematician
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

